Aamjiwnaang Office (BlackburnNews.com File Photo by Briana Carnegie)Aamjiwnaang Office (BlackburnNews.com File Photo by Briana Carnegie)

Aamjiwnaang elects new council

Aamjiwnaang First Nation has elected its new band council for the next two years.

Chris Plain was acclaimed as chief.

When he completes this term in 2024, he will have been in the top role for 17 years.

Plain was first elected chief in 2005 and has served in the role for the majority of the time.

In the 2016-2018 term of council he served as a councillor.

There were 20 individuals on the ballot seeking one of nine councillor positions.

Joanne Rogers received the most votes with 242 ballots cast, she was followed by Sherri Crowley who had 201 votes cast for her name.

Janelle Nahmabin, John Q. Adams, June Simon, Darren Lee Henry, Justin (CJ) Smith-White, Charles Phillip Maness and Shawn Plain were also elected.

The election was held Friday, October 7, at the Maawn Doosh Gumig Community Centre on Virgil Avenue.

Read More Local Stories